The Story of Firefox, for kids

Over the past few years, I’ve been working on and off on a children’s book about Firefox. The project started when my kids wanted to understand what I did at work every day.

The story is a sketch about the evolution of Netscape into Firefox and the power of being open. In terms of historical accuracy, a number of things were simplified in order to keep the messages simple.Ā  For better or worse, it’s already 2500 words. That means it’s not for very young children (I’m thinking 2nd graders and older).

I used readily available imagery of a dragon, a phoenix, Firefox, and Mammon (the god of greed, as I’ve learned). In the story, coders are wizards who cast spells. Naturally, there is also a Chief Lizard Wrangler šŸ™‚Ā  Where possible, I used plot and dialogue, but at times it addresses the reader directly.

The only kid I’ve tested it on so far is my son Oliver (age 8). He loves it, but then he may just be happy that his father spent time to write about a dragon.

If anyone is seriously interested, I’d love to get some help polishing it until it’s good enough to become an actual book.

16 Responses to The Story of Firefox, for kids

  1. Would love to see it

    • aaronlev says:

      Chris, are you in the mood to review now or would rather wait? I have a decent number of reviewers, so if you wait that’s valuable too. It’ll be good to get fresh looks for it when it’s further along.

  2. That is so cool.

  3. Josh says:

    Well who would have thought that the Book of Mozilla at about:mozilla is actually a children’s book. šŸ˜›

    But seriously though, this is a brilliant idea. I’d love to take a look, since you’re looking for someone to polish it. Although I’m studying for an A-Level in English Language, and have a great understanding in the language given to children, I’m doubtful that I can help, being that I’m only 16. šŸ˜›

    But good luck with this. šŸ˜‰

  4. Guillermo Movia says:

    That’s a great idea, i really want to read it

  5. aaronlev says:

    I’m waiting before I publish to the general community. For now, I’m looking for dedicated reviewers.

  6. Jeff says:

    I’d be happy to help you polish it.

    I have a BA in English with an emphasis in creative writing. I haven’t spent too much time writing for children, but I don’t think that would be a serious impediment.

    If you’re interested, shoot me an email.

  7. Eitan says:

    Can’t wait to read it. Don’t have any test devices lying around though (kids).

  8. Waiting for it! Know a couple of beta testers right next to me.

  9. Erica says:

    I’d love to review it! So would my nephews/niece

  10. Brian King says:

    I’m in. I’ll read it w/ my 8 yr old girl.

    • aaronlev says:

      Hi Brian, do you want to provide your own feedback first and wait a few iterations before reading it with your girl? Seems to make more sense. I read it to my son a bit too early on.

  11. msurman says:

    Great stuff, Aaron. Happy to be a reviewer. Will read with my 8 year old.

  12. Thomas Logan says:

    I’m interested to help, that sounds awesome!

  13. Daniel Einspanjer says:

    I got two kids, three and five. I make up stories for them. Would love to try this story out on them.

    Lemme know when you are ready for another batch of reviewers.